📚 Pump Up Your Book Presents Are You There Krishna? Virtual Book Trailer Reveal

Are You There Krishna banner

Grab your copy of ARE YOU THERE KRISHNA? by @rachelkhona #humor #memoir #PUYB #ASMSG http://amzn.to/2mh0p1l Click To Tweet

Pump Up Your Book is pleased to bring you Rachel Khona’s ARE YOU THERE KRISHNA? IT’S ME, RESHMA. OR RACHEL. OR WHATEVER.: ESSAYS ON TALKING TO GHOSTS, ACCOSTING CELEBRITIES, GETTING HIGH, SEXISM, RACE AND FIRST-GENERATION WOES Book Trailer Reveal April 3 – 28!

Are You There Krishna

Inside the Book

Title: ARE YOU THERE KRISHNA? IT’S ME, RESHMA. OR RACHEL. OR WHATEVER.: ESSAYS ON TALKING TO GHOSTS, ACCOSTING CELEBRITIES, GETTING HIGH, SEXISM, RACE AND FIRST-GENERATION WOES
Author: Rachel Khona
Publisher: Thought Catalog
Pages: 257
Genre: Humor/Memoir

Rachel knew even as a young child that she wasn’t like the rest of her Indian family. While her parents were plotting how she could make it into med school with her mediocre grades in chemistry and biology, she had other things on her mind, including such gems as:

· Why can’t she go to the temple on her period?
· Why don’t her Indian cousins like her?
· Why was it OK to be sexualized at a beauty pageant but not for herself?
· How can she straddle two cultures while retaining her sense of self?
· Why are women considered sluts and men considered studs?
· Why do people keep asking her if she was born in India?
· Should she wax down there?
· Why does she have crazy eyes?

After leaving home, Rachel got high in Amsterdam, met her pop singer idol in a bathroom, argued with a ghost, and got lost in the Pyrenees. But that didn’t stop her from questioning while men still tell her to smile. ‘Are You There Krishna? It’s Me, Reshma. Or Rachel. Or Whatever.’ weaves stories of Rachel’s life with observations on race, class, sex, feminism, and culture with humor and candor.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Amazon

Meet the Author

Rachel Khona

Once upon a time in an exotic land called New Jersey, Rachel Khona used to dream of one day playing tambourine in an all-girl rock band. That never happened.

Instead she became a writer. She has written for The New York Times, The Washington Post, Playboy, Penthouse, Maxim, and Cosmopolitan among others.

When she’s not writing or designing, she is busy drinking wine and singing off key, bike riding, pretending she’s friends with Mindy Kaling and Amy Poehler, eating absurd amounts of cheese, or listening to rock music at an appallingly loud volume. Sometimes all at once.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

__________________________________

Book Trailer Reveal Schedule

Monday, April 3

PUYB Virtual Book Club

Books, Reviews, ETC.

Tuesday, April 4

Just Us Book Blog

Wednesday, April 5

The Writer’s Life

Thursday, April 6

100 Pages A Day

Friday, April 7

CBY Book Club

What Is That Book About

********

Monday, April 10

Confessions of an Eccentric Bookaholic

Tuesday, April 11

Bound 2 Escape

Wednesday, April 12

Books, Dreams, Life

Thursday, April 13

Nuttin’ But Books

Friday, April 14

Book Bloggin’ Princess

********

Monday, April 17

Lori’s Reading Corner

Tuesday, April 18

Lynn’s Romance Enthusiast

Wednesday, April 19

A Title Wave

Thursday, April 20

I’m Shelf-ish

Friday, April 21

As the Page Turns

********

Monday, April 24

The Literary Nook

Tuesday, April 25

My Bookish Pleasures

Wednesday, April 26

Write and Take Flight

Thursday, April 27

My Book Launch

Friday, April 28

Book Cover Junkie

***************

puyb-tour-banner