📚 Pump Up Your Book Presents Stairway to Paradise Virtual Book Publicity Tour

Stairway to Paradise banner

New #Memoir! STAIRWAY TO HEAVEN: GROWING UP GERSHWIN by @nadianatali #PUYB Click To Tweet

Pump Up Your Book is pleased to bring you Nadia Natali’s STAIRWAY TO PARADISE: GROWING UP GERSHWIN Virtual Book Publicity Tour October 2 – March 30!

Stairway to Paradise

Inside the Book

Title: STAIRWAY TO PARADISE: GROWING UP GERSHWIN
Author: Nadia Natali
Publisher: RareBird Books
Pages: 304
Genre: Memoir

BOOK BLURB:

Growing up as Frankie Gershwin’s daughter, the sister of George and Ira Gershwin, was quite a challenge. I didn’t have the perspective to realize that so much unhappiness in a family was out of the ordinary. But I knew something was off. My mother was often depressed and my father was tyrannical and scary, one never knew when he would blow up. I learned early on that I had to be the cheery one, the one to fix the problems. Both sides of my family were famous; the Gershwin side and my father who invented color film. But even though there was more than enough recognition, money and parties I understood that wasn’t what made people happy.

As a young adult adrift and depressed I broke from that unsatisfactory life by marrying Enrico Natali, a photographer, deeply immersed in his own questions about life. We moved into the wilderness away from what we considered as the dysfunction of society. That’s when we discovered that life had other kinds of challenges: flood, fire, rattlesnakes, mountain lions and bears. We lived in a teepee for more than four years while building a house. Curiously my mother never commented on my life choice. She must have realized on some level that her own life was less than satisfactory.

Enrico had developed a serious meditation practice that had become a kind of ground for him. As for me I danced. Understanding the somatic, the inner body experience, became my way to shift the inner story.

We raised and homeschooled our three children. I taught them to read, Enrico taught them math. The kids ran free, happy, always engaged, making things, and discovering. We were so sure we were doing the right thing. However, we didn’t have a clue how they would make the transition to the so-called ‘real world’. The children thrived until they became teenagers. They then wanted out. Everything fell apart for them and for Enrico and me. Our lives were turned upside down, our paradise lost. There was tragedy: our son lost his life while attempting to cross our river during a fierce storm. Later I was further challenged by advanced breast cancer.

It was during these times that I delved deeply into the somatic recesses of myself. I began to find my own voice, a long learning process. I emerged with a profound trust in my own authority. It became clear that everyone has to find his or her way through layers of inauthenticity, where a deep knowing can develop. And I came to see that is the best anyone can offer to the world.

Enrico and I still live in the wilds of the Lost Padres National Forest, a paradise with many steps going up and down, a life I would not change.

Order Below

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Audible

______________________

Meet the Author

Nadia Natali

 

Nadia Natali, author of the memoir, Stairway to Paradise: Growing Up Gershwin, published by Rare Bird, Los Angeles, 2015, and The Blue Heron Ranch Cookbook: Recipes and Stories from a Zen Retreat Center published by North Atlantic Books, Berkeley CA, 2008, is currently working on a second cookbook titled Zafu Kitchen Cookbook.

Natali, a clinical psychotherapist and dance therapist, specializes in trauma release through somatic work. She earned a master’s degree from Hunter College in New York City in Dance/Movement Therapy and completed another masters degree in clinical psychology with an emphasis in somatic psychology at the Santa Barbara Graduate Institute. Nadia is a registered practitioner of Biodynamic Craniosacral Therapy (RCST) and is also a certified Somatic Experiencing Practitioner (SEP) who trained with Peter Levine.

DanceMedicine Workshops is Natali’s creation where participants move through their trauma with dialogue and dance. She also offers the Ojai community, DanceMedicine Journeys. In addition to her private practice, Nadia and her husband offer Zen Retreats at their center.

Born into a famous family that was riddled with dysfunction, Nadia Natali made the choice to turn her life inside out and step away from fame and fortune. Against her parents’ consent she married an artist and moved to the remote wilderness in California. It was there that she found grounding as she and her husband raised and homeschooled their three children and opened a retreat center. As she gathered her own momentum, she enrolled in a doctorate program finally becoming a clinical psychotherapist specializing in psychosomatic work. She and her husband live in Ojai California.

WEBSITE & SOCIAL LINKS:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

_____________________

Sign up below!

__________________________________________________

TOUR SCHEDULE

Monday, October 2

Book Teaser at YouTube

Tuesday, October 3

First Chapter Reveal at Pump Up Your Book

Wednesday, October 4

Guest Blogging at Mythical Books

********

Monday, October 9

Book Featured at Confessions of an Eccentric Bookaholic

Tuesday, October 10

Book Review at Books for Books

Wednesday, October 11

Book Review at Selfina Hawke’s Books

********

Monday, October 16

Book Featured at My Bookish Pleasures

Wednesday, October 18

Book Featured at CBY Book Club

*********

Tuesday, October 24

Book Featured at Nuttin’ But Books

********

Tuesday, October 31

Guest Blogging at Dear Reader, Love Author

********

Wednesday, November 1

First Chapter Reveal at Literarily Speaking

Friday, November 3

Book Featured at What Is That Book About

*******

Monday, November 6

Book Featured at The Writer’s Life

Wednesday, November 8

First Chapter Reveal at The Dark Phantom Reviews

*********

Monday, November 13

Book Featured at A Title Wave

Tuesday, November 14

Book Review at Books, Reviews, ETC.

Wednesday, November 15

Guest Blogging at C.A. Milson’s Author Blog

*********

Monday, November 20

Book Review at Stormy Nights Reviewing & Bloggin’

Tuesday, November 21

Book Featured at I’m Shelf-ish

*********

Wednesday, November 30

Book Review at Deal Sharing Aunt

*********

Monday, December 4

Interview at The Writer’s Life

Tuesday, December 5

Book Featured at Book Cover Junkie

Wednesday, December 6

Interview at As the Page Turns

Thursday, December 7

Book Featured at Write and Take Flight

********

Monday, December 11

Book Featured at Hooked From Page One

Tuesday, December 12

Interview at Pump Up Your Book

Thursday, December 14

Guest Blogging at Lori’s Reading Corner

Friday, December 15

Book Review at The World As I See It

********

Friday, December 29

Book Featured at The Avid Reader

*********

Tuesday, January 2

Interview at I’m Shelfish

Wednesday, January 3

Book Featured at Mello & June, It’s a Book Thang!

Thursday, January 4

Interview at A Blue Million Books

********

Monday, January 8

Interview at Literarily Speaking

Tuesday, January 9

Guest Blogging at Sharing Links and Wisdom

Thursday, January 11

Interview at Digital Pubbing

********

Monday, January 15

Book Review at The Writer’s Life

Tuesday, January 16

Interview at PUYB Virtual Book Club

********

Thursday, January 25

Book Review at Deal Sharing Aunt

*********

Monday, January 29

First Chapter Reveal at As the Pages Turn

********

Wednesday, February 1

TBA

Tuesday, February 2

TBA

Wednesday, February 3

TBA

********

Monday, February 6

Guest Blogging at Blogging Authors

Tuesday, February 7

TBA

Wednesday, February 8

TBA

********

Monday, February 13

TBA

Tuesday, February 14

TBA

Thursday, February 16

Guest Blogging at The Story Behind the Book

*******

Monday, February 20

Interview at The Literary Nook

Thursday, February 23

Interview at The Dark Phantom Reviews

*******

Monday, February 28

TBA

********

Monday, March 5

TBA

Tuesday, March 6

TBA

Wednesday, March 7

TBA

********

Monday, March 12

TBA

Tuesday, March 13

TBA

Wednesday, March 14

TBA

********

Monday, March 19

TBA

Tuesday, March 20

TBA

Wednesday, March 21

TBA

*********

Monday, March 26

TBA

Tuesday, March 27

TBA

Friday, March 30

TBA

__________________________________________________

puyb-tour-banner