The Golden Pathway Virtual Book Tour September/October ’10

The Golden Pathway banner

Join Donna McDine, author of the historical story book, The Golden Pathway (Guardian Angel Publishing), as she virtually tours the blogosphere in September and October on her first virtual book tour with Pump Up Your Book.

Donna McDine photoAbout Donna McDine

Donna McDine is an award-winning children’s author, Honorable Mention in the 77th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition and two Honorable Mentions in the 78th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition. Donna’s stories and features have been published in many print and online publications, and her first book, The Golden Pathway, will be published through Guardian Angel Publishing. Ms. McDine is a member of the SCBWI, Musing Our Children, and The National Writing for Children Center. Learn more about Donna at www.donnamcdine.com if you sign the guestbook, you’ll receive a FREE e-Book Write What Inspires You: Author Interviews, and http://www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com and http://www.thegoldenpathway.blogspot.com.

About The Golden Pathway

The Golden PathwayHigh-pitched screams echo each night. David’s cruel Pa always chooses the same victim. Despite the circumstances during slavery, David uncovers courage to defy his Pa.

Raised in a hostile environment where abuse occurs daily, David attempts to break the mold and befriends the slave, Jenkins, owned by his Pa. Fighting against extraordinary times and beliefs, David leads Jenkins to freedom with no regard for his own safety and possible consequences dealt out by his Pa.

Read the Excerpt!

He clamped his hands over his ears, but it didn’t block the high-pitched screams from the barn.  He knew they would stop. They always did. Yet, the silence scared David even more, knowing Pa would seek a new victim.

Thud. Thud. Pa’s heavy footsteps echoed on the porch.

Clank. The buckle from Pa’s belt hit the floor.

Buzz saw. Pa’s loud snores shook the windowpane.

David grabbed his boots and with shaky hands slid them on. His small size made it easy to hoist himself out the bedroom window and shimmy down the trellis. David did his best not to leave any footprints in Ma’s tomato garden. He made sure each night to leave the straw broom on the front porch leaning against the railing by the garden. David reached over the railing for the broom. He carefully brushed the dirt to hide his footprints, all the while backing out of the garden. Satisfied that he’d covered his tracks, David shook the dirt off the broom and placed it back on the porch.

If Pa found out what he was doing, he’d skin his hide for sure. David loved Pa, but he had to make this stop.

Here’s what reviewers are saying about The Golden Pathway!

“The best thing about this book is that it raised other questions… Any book that can cause a child to crave more knowledge on a subject is a good one.”

–Lynn’s Reading Corner

“I thought this was a very well written story for children to understand.”

–Chrissy’s World of Books

“Once children have read about David and the part he played in the Underground Railroad, they’ll be eager to find other stories to enhance what they’ve learned in The Golden Pathway.”

–Beverly Stowe McClure, author of Rebel in Blue Jeans, Just Breeze, and Caves, Cannons, and Crinolines

“A tale sure to inspire anyone who doubts their own courage”.

–Lori Calabrese, author of The Bug That Plagued the Entire Third Grade

“The Golden Pathway is a story about courage and friendship.”

–Renee Hand, author of The Crypto-Capers series and the award-winning, The Adventures of Joe-Joe Nut and Biscuit Bill: Case #1: The Great Pie Catastrophe

Watch the Trailer!

banner bar

The Golden Pathway Tour Schedule

banner bar

Tuesday, September 7

Guest blogging at Thoughts in Progress

Wednesday, September 8

Book reviewed at The Children and Teen’s Book Connection

Thursday, September 9

Guest blogging at The Hot Author Report

Friday, September 10

Guest blogging at Lori’s Reading Corner

Monday, September 13

Interviewed at Pump Up Your Book

Tuesday, September 14Books for tour page

Interviewed at Examiner

Thursday, September 16

Guest blogging at Paperback Writer

Friday, September 17

Book reviewed at Ellis

Monday, September 20

Guest blogging at Lynn’s Corner

Tuesday, September 21

Book reviewed at Lynn’s Corner

Wednesday, September 22

Guest blogging at Review from Here

Thursday, September 23

Interviewed at The Writer’s Life

Friday, September 24

Book reviewed at Chrissy’s World of Books

Monday, September 27

Book reviewed at The Story of a Writer

Book reviewed at Lori Calabrese’s Blog

Tuesday, September 28

Interviewed at Lori Calabrese’s Blog

Thursday, September 30

Book reviewed at The Crypto-Capers Review

Book reviewed at My Favorite Things

Monday, October 4

Interviewed at Beyond the Books

Tuesday, October 5

Book reviewed at 4 the Love of Books

Wednesday, October 6

Guest blogging at Writing Daze

Thursday, October 7

Book reviewed at Just One More Paragraph

Friday, October 8

Book reviewed at Debbie’s Book Bag

Monday, October 11

Book spotlighted at The Plot

Book reviewed at Carpe Libris

Tuesday, October 12

Character interviewed at The Plot

Wednesday, October 13

Interviewed at Blogcritics will send direct link when available

Thursday, October 14

Book reviewed at A Moment with Mystee

Friday, October 15

Book reviewed at Mayra’s Secret Bookcase

Monday, October 18

Interviewed at J. Aday Kennedy’s: A Writing Playground

Tuesday, October 19

Interviewed and book reviewed at A.R. Silverberry’s blog

Wednesday, October 20

Book reviewed at J. Aday Kennedy’s: A Writing Playground

Thursday, October 21

Guest book review at Pump Up Your Book

Friday, October 22

Book reviewed at Beth’s Book Basket

Monday, October 25

Book spotlighted at Book Tours and More

Thursday, October 28

 Book reviewed at Thoughts in Progress

Friday, October 29

Book reviewed at Book Reviews by Molly

Guest blogging at SFC Blog: Families Matter

banner bar

Donna McDine’s THE GOLDEN PATHWAY VIRTUAL BLOG TOUR ‘10 will officially begin on September 7  and end on October 29, 2010.  This tour is full and no longer accepting hosts. Thanks for your interest.
banner bar